Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Manuel plus 9 more ministers resign

Twelve down and counting...

Behold - the troupe of monkeys responsible for the mess that South Africa is in. As a commenter in the previous post rightly pointed out; what about Dr Beetroot and Charlie Nkakakula? Hanging on for dear life are they? It seems the perks of the job are worth riding out for another 7-9 months. Tells you what integrity (or lack thereof) they possess.

The group below may not have been forced out but Manto and Nkakakula should be escorted
out of office in handcuffs.

- - - -


Finance Minister Trevor Manuel is among 11 Cabinet ministers and three deputy ministers who have resigned.

Their letters of resignation had been received by President Thabo Mbeki “which, regretfully, he has had to accept”, the presidency said in a statement on Tuesday.

They included Deputy President Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, who earlier in the day announced her resignation from the position, to which she was appointed after ANC president Jacob Zuma was released from his responsibilities as deputy president in 2005.

One of the reasons she gave was to allow a new president the opportunity to choose their own deputy.

The other resignations were of the Ministers of:
  • Defence, Mosiuoa Lekota
  • Minister in the Presidency Essop Pahad
  • Intelligence, Ronnie Kasrils
  • Correctional Services Ngconde Balfour
  • Public Enterprises, Alec Erwin
  • Science and Technology, Mosibudi Mangena
  • Public Works, Thoko Didiza
  • Provincial and Local Government, Sydney Mufamadi
  • Public Service and Administration Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi.
The deputy ministers who resigned are:
  • Foreign Affairs, Aziz Pahad
  • Finance, Jabu Moleketi
  • Correctional Services, Loretta Jacobus.
“The resignations will be effective from the day that the president’s resignation takes effect[ Thursday],” the presidency said.

“All the ministers have expressed their availability to assist the incoming administration in the hand-over process and any other assistance that might be sought from them.

“President Mbeki thanked the deputy president, the ministers and the deputy ministers for their dedicated service to the nation and wished them well in their future endeavours,” it said.

1 Opinion(s):

Anonymous said...

Big surprise to see Director-general of the Treasury, Lesetja Kganyago,Finance Minister Trevor Manuel and Tito Mboweni the Central bank governor with his 27.5% pay rise this year swear alliance to the new comrades. Tito Mboweni`s annual pay, including fringe benefits, stood at R3.387m in 2007 and, with pension and medical contributions, the total package was R3.796m. The bank’s two deputy governors Xolile Guma and Renosi Mokate received increases of 66% and 72% respectively, taking their total pay to R2.774m and R2.839m
Their loyalty is to the gravy train and not anyone or anything else.